Synthesising Creativity – De Bono’s Six Thinking Hats, The Disney Creative Strategy, and the Creative Challenge Proposal.

In preparation for the Draft FMP proposal we were expected to hand in on the 16th of March, I needed a tool which would allow me to synthesise my abstract thinking into something feasible that can be realistically generated for my FMP.  Whilst I have always found the generation of creative ideas easy, organising my thinking to generate something achievable is not something which comes naturally.  Therefore, during this masters, I have found organisational thinking frameworks really valuable in allowing me to analyse my ideas in a systematic and practical manner and make things clear and practical.

De Bono’s Six Thinking Hats 

‘Six Thinking Hats’ is an important and powerful technique, which I have made use of throughout this masters. It is used to look at decisions from a number of important perspectives. This forces you to move outside your habitual thinking style, and helps you to get a more rounded view of a situation.  At this point whilst I had lots of ideas, I had not looked at them in relation to each other or subjected them to any critique. De Bono’s framework really allowed me to analyse the feasibility of my FMP thinking and helped me see how these disparate elements of consumer empower, customisation, sustainability, and aspiration could be united within a single concept.

2. The NLP Disney Creative Strategy

The Disney Creativity Strategy, sometimes called the Disney Technique, is a way of organising your thinking to be better able to achieve goals or dreams.  At this stage of my thinking I was looking to maximise my creativity and expand my ideas to pin down what my ultimate vision for my FMP would be.  I could then take the necessary steps to reduce this down, to something practical and achievable.  I therefore only engaged with the first stage of this strategy, ‘The Dreamer’, putting my ideas to the test and answering the following questions.

1. Dreamer

Step into this location. Take a moment to reconnect with what it’s like to imagine freely. Now think about the big picture of your ‘dream’. Visualise it creatively and without inhibitions, as if anything is possible. Consider the benefits of achieving it.  

To help you think more clearly, if doing it alone, ask each question aloud and answer it aloud (for each of the stages).

What do I want? 

What will I be doing – and where will I be doing it? 

When will I begin? Where? Why? 

What are the benefits of achieving this? 

What will this mean about me as a person? 

How will it benefit those who are close to me?

The second two stages, the planner and the critic check your creative thinking to allow you to see how you could make this grand, expansive, utopian vision happen and what potential obstacles could stop you achieving this.  I will enact these two stages in preparation for my final FMP proposal when my research has developed a little more.

3. The Creative Challenge Proposal – Pinpointing the Ethical/Activist perspective of my ideas 

I took part in the creative challenge during my first term.  Whilst I am no longer part of it, the idea I proposed I am now developing for my FMP.  The idea I proposed centres around the creation of a democratic fashion brand using customisation to challenge the current monopoly of fast fashion on both a social and environmental level (as detailed in the proposal itself). The experience of creating this proposal was valuable as it forced me to consider my idea specifically from an ethical perspective through the question ‘Why is it needed?’, and to ground this abstract thinking in something real.  This process allowed me to make it clear in my own head how my idea was entrenched within the fields of democratic and sustainable fashion, and how it could potentially manifest as a feasible brand concept.

Leave a Reply

