FPI Visual Development Research – Image Analysis

Having engaged with this masters just after completing my degree without any real industry experience, I was never quite sure what I wanted to do outside of the generic label of ‘fashion’ and ‘the creative industries’.  However. reflection of both my experience so far on this masters combined with a more general analysis of my skills,interest and experience, has led me to realise that  it is my ambition upon completely my MA, to seek a career within the field of Promotional Imaging, in a role encompassing idea generation, concept development, styling and art direction.  As my FMP will effectively function as my calling card to realise this ambition, imaging will form a central part of any outputs I produce within the brand concept I intend to create.  As one of this term’s research outputs I am planning to create a Fashion Photography lookbook documenting my secondary research and primary experimentation as I engage with this field.  This research output is designed to build on my skills, experience and ideas in preparation for my FMP.

Part of the research process to create this output involves the semiotic analysis of any promotional imaging I encounter which drives an idea, or simply inspires my personal visual style.  This will be documented on this research blog.

DIOR ADDICT IT-LASH MASCARA  

http://fashionindustryarchive.com/Campaigns/Dior-Addict-It-Lash-Mascara-Campaign-SS-2014-Sasha-Luss/

Brand: Dior

Stylist: Carleyne Cerf de Dudzeele 

Photographer; Steven Meisel 

Model: Sasha Lush

The Product?

Dior Addict ‘it-lash’ is a mascara designed to volumise lashes to their maximum capacity.  Claims to create a ‘fashion-forward, modern day, doe-eyed look’ and comes in series of fun unconventional colours.

What does the Image communicate and how does this inform my visual development?

I found this image really effective in the narrative it has built around the product to communicate it’s message. Conventional make up advertising, even for high-end brands like Dior documents the product in relation to the face of a model they believe communicates the aspirational value of the brand.  However, whilst this traditional composition comprises half of the advertisement, the other half presents something different – rather, to symbolise the strength of the products supposed ‘volumising power’, it has been scaled up to 5 times the size of the model who is positioned on a ladder leaning against it. This is a quirky, fun yet sophisticated set-up which succeeds in promoting this product, and Dior,  to the fashionable, young consumer, who in the past could have potentially viewed their products as old-fashioned.  It is this strong narrative effect, that I wish to carry forward in any promotional imaging I create.

Leave a Reply

