R+D 7003 Initial Exploratory Primary and Secondary Research sources

PRIMARY RESEARCH SOURCES

1. Visit London…

I am determined to develop my research to it’s maximum potential through this module. Therefore a core part of this mission is to actively and enthusiastically embrace everything London has to offer on both the fashion and culture fronts. I am lucky enough to be studying in the bosom of one of the most vibrant, diverse, exciting and fashion-forward metropolitans in the world, where the things happening every minute of the day are actively pushing and shaping the boundaries of the industry. This blog will therefore document how these exploratory excursions informs my thinking; something not only limited to exhibition visits, but anything that catches my eye or has the potential to inform my research.  Ultimately, whether it can be seen as directly contributing to this specific research process or just building my general experience, immersing myself in a culture largely responsible for making the industry what it is today, will be hugely insightful.  This is especially since my general interest revolves around the postmodern ‘fashion forward’ consumer; a demographic whose breeding ground appears to be this colourful, creative city….

A Snapshot of Potential Research Outlets…It is all around!

2. UCA 

One thing I must not forget when it comes to sourcing primary research for this module is UCA, particularly in regards to gathering market research. As I made pretty clear in 7001/2, my consumer interest centres around the postmodern fashion consumer; a typically  youth culture demographic who understand fashion and clothing as a visual language to assert their identity and individuality. Whilst aware of trends, this demographic only interacts with them through a framework of their own personal style. Consequently, as an arts university, bursting not just with fashion students, but multiple streams of creatives and innovators epitomising this demographic, the UCA population should in theory act as my most valuable primary resource throughout this research process mainly due to it’s accessibility literally only my doorstep. This research could manifest in a variety of forms from simply collecting street style images to conducting short interviews/questions gauging reactions to potential ideas/innovations.

SECONDARY RESEARCH SOURCES.

Last term I uncovered and made use of a variety of secondary research sources, some more successful than others dependent on the objectives of the brief. For example, when collecting street style images for my Trend Report focused on the postmodern fashion consumer, fashion blogs proved particularly useful due to their strong image focus, the sheer volume and variety of them, and their accessibility.  On the other hand these blogs

Reflections on the Research Process…

THINK-Global-Research-Creative-Model
INSIGHT EXPLORATION

Initially, this research in the field will form part of my initial inductive exploration; the creative, open-ended stage of the research process where I am attempting to explode my ideas to see what I have in front of me, before settling on a specific path of enquiry and defining my outputs.

Primary or Secondary Research…?

Regarding research theory, this style of enquiry can be understood as both primary and secondary research.  For example, an exhibition is on one hand considered secondary research as an interpretation of an event presented by a curator.  However the increasingly democratic and deconstructed way exhibitions are now presented no longer imposes knowledge as objective truth but makes use of an interpretavist paradigm of knowledge to present a perspective. This empowers the visitor to use the information presented to generate their own interpretations aka. Primary Research.

Leave a Reply

