Developing my own Visual Style – Turner Tones…

Ok, so we can all agree that Turner has absolutely zero to do with fashion, unless you count analysing his attire as an expression of early 19th century masculinity.  However, any creative would also acknowledge that any excitement, innovation and progression is reliant on stepping beyond the parameters of your own discourse to seek inspiration from every angle.  Therefore whilst the Late Turner exhibition at the Tate Britain was not strictly ‘fashion’, as a creative and visual person I was particularly struck by the tranquil colour combinations prevalent in his beautiful paintings; an inspiration I could use to build my own personal visual style framing my outputs.  As an FPI student, this is a creative masters after all…

The Exhibition Brochure...            10959841_10155256712465472_3207231446712517498_n

The monumental Tate Britain...
The monumental and slightly intimidating  Tate Britain…

The man himself; the BRIEFEST of histories…

J.M.W Turner was a 19th century English Romanticist Landscape painter, watercolorist and printmaker.  Commonly known as the ‘painter of light’, whilst his talent was recognised, Turner’s relatively abstract and affective style in comparison to the traditional literal landscape art of his day, positioned him as a controversial figure.  However, now widely upheld as the predecessor of abstraction and impressionism, Turner’s legacy is cemented as the most influential british landscape painter of all time.

640px-Turner_selfportrait

Three paintings I found particularly inspirational…

I was particularly struck by the yellow and blue tones of this image, finding the overall effect beautifully harmonious.  For me the success of this image lies in the delicate balance of vibrance and subtlety.
1. Norham Castle, Sunrise,  C.1845                             I was particularly struck by the yellow and blue tones of this image, finding the overall effect  stunningly tranquil and  harmonious. For me the success of this image lies in it’s delicate balance of vibrance and subtlety.; a trademark of turners. These is a colour palette I intend to draw from in my creative design.
9d91d231299e5cdc5d2f93639ca81f9f
The Scarlett Sunset C.1833                                 Again, I find the balance of colours in this watercolour delectable, particularly in regards to their transition from the top to the bottom of the painting.
Struck by the power of the varying tones of blue and pink when used together - particularly as these are traditionally passive, infantilised colours.  Again could be made use of as the foundation of a colour palette
Goldau C. 1843                                                       Struck by the power of the varying tones of blue and pink when used together – particularly as these are traditionally passive, infantilised colours. Again could be made use of as the foundation of a colour palette.

Olafur Elliason: Turner Colour Experiments.

For me, colour inspiration was the draw of this exhibition.  Olafur Ellison is additionally inspired by Turners use of light and colour, abstracting the hues of seven of his paintings in dynamic colour studies.  This isolation of colour is exactly how I intend to make use of Turner’s work, making this supplementary aside arguably more valuable to me than the event itself.

‘In the Turner colour experiments, I’ve isolated light and colour in turners works in order to extract his sense of ephemera from the objects of desire his paintings have become…(Ellison, 2013)’

Eliasson Turner 2                       olafur60

Like Elliason I intend to build on the aspirational magnificence of these ‘turner tones’ within a modern, fashion framework.

Turner’s influence so far…

Since this is only the initial exploration stage of my research process i have not yet produced any outputs making use of creative design or colour palettes.  However I have decided to use these ‘turner tones’ as the foundation of a creative design inspiration pinterest board, which I can then reference when the time comes.

https://www.pinterest.com/livhitchings/fpi-creative-design-inspiration/

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 12.59.12  Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 12.59.33

More vibrant, punchy art work inspired by Turner.
More vibrant turner inspired art work, the colour palettes of which I can deconstruct.

ff189e22c2ba991806746a6a061765a0         628aa91aef6cb083e33616bf14638044

In fact I was inspired by this exhibition so much, that I purchased my favourite print so I can engage with Turner each morning when I open my eyes.  These are definitely colours which I believe will come to define my personal creative style.

10424249_10155256712670472_5053868173556917822_n

Leave a Reply

